Group members can delete their own messages in the archive. Group owners and moderators with the appropriate permissions can delete any messages in the archive.
To delete an individual message within a topic (not the entire topic):
- On the group’s website, display the message you want to delete.
- Click or tap More under the message at the lower right.
- Select Delete Message from the submenu that appears.
- When the Verify Delete confirmation popup appears, click or tap Yes.
Note: Members who received the message by email will still have a copy (unless they deleted it from their email applications).
Related help topic
More Options
More
Introduction to Groups.io for group owners
Creating a group
Promoting your group
Group aliases
Renaming a group
Customizing group settings
Setting membership defaults
Changing the group's cover photo and icon
Managing group and member notices
Managing members
Managing owners and moderators
Managing topics and messages
Managing hashtags
Activity log
Analytics dashboard
Notifications about group activity
Storage space
Integrations
Subgroups
Donations and sponsorships
Sticking topics and wiki pages to the top of the Topics page
Locking and unlocking groups and subgroups
Banning or unbanning domains
GitHub support in Groups.io
Upgrading or downgrading groups
Groups.io billing
Exporting or downloading your group’s data
Deleting a group or subgroup
Enterprise group features
Terms